The James Wright Educator Award

The Wright Award is given on an as-needed basis to honor those individuals who have devoted their energies to the betterment of the Association’s education programs. The award was named in honor of James Wright.

Jim received a BS in Nautical Science from the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, Kings Point, L.I., NY. He was employed by Lima Electric Co, Inc. in various Generator Sales and Engineering positions from 1968-1986 when Marathon Electric Mfg. Corp. acquired Lima Electric Co. He remained with Marathon until his retirement in 2012.

Jim was very involved in EGSA for decades having served on the Technical & Standards Committee (1973-78), chaired the Education Committee (1985-94). He also served as Secretary-Treasurer (1987), Second Vice President (1988), First Vice President (1989) and President (1990). He was awarded the Timmler Award in 1989 for his work with the Education Committee and won the Carpenter Award in 1992. He has served with the EGSA On-Site Power Generation School from its inception in 1983 to date. He authored two chapters of the EGSA On-Site Power Reference Guide (2nd, 3rd and 4th Editions). He was a featured speaker at a number of national and regional conventions and technical conferences, and he has written a number of technical articles for EGSA’s Powerline magazine.


2018 - Steve Evans, ASCO Power Technologies
2013 - Dennis Pearson, Woodward
2008 - Terry Gaines, Basler Electric 
2006 - Dennis Roundtree, On-Site Power Inc.
2003 - Michael Pope, Volvo Penta of the Americas
2002 - David Alley, ANNA, Inc.
2000 - Herb Daugherty, ASCO Power Technologies
2000 - Roman Gawlowski, Detroit Diesel
2000 - James Wright, Marathon Electric